My top 5 failings as a gamer

I believe that one of my greatest failings as a gamer is the huge pile of games that I haven’t/can’t finish. Trust me there are a lot of them. As an owner of over 15 consoles and 100s of games I’m bound to have a few unfinished games in my collection, everyone has a few. I’ve decided to use my blog this week to talk through the 5 games that I’m most annoyed about being unable to finish. So join me on this crazy journey.

5: Super Mario Bros 3-
I’ve been playing this game since I was a kid. I have about 15 years experience on this game and I’ve never finished it. I’ve had sessions on that game lasting longer then 20 hours and failed to finish it. It honestly plagues me that I can’t do it. I understand that it’s a hard game, but I’d like to think that with the hours I’ve put in I’d be able finish it. Every time I play I manage to get to world 8-1. I can’t do it. You know what annoys me the most is when I watch people doing speed runs; speed runs! I can’t finish the game. I mean look at this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wz3BuYYhnn0
This guy finishes the level I can’t do in about 30 minutes. So to sum up; I will finish super Mario 3 at some point.

4: Final Fantasy 8-
I’ve never finished Final Fantasy 8, and unlike the above game I will likely never finish this one. Its not because I find the game too hard; I’ll never finish this game because the plot starts to get on my nerves. I always get towards the end of disk 3. You get sent into space to find some wizard or something. I know a lot of people love this game, but for me it’s just too convoluted. You all happen to be from the same orphanage, but you all forgot. Then an evil witch appears and she happens to be the woman who took care of you as a child. It’s too much for me.

3: Ninja Gaiden/Shadow Warriors-
By this I don’t mean Ninja Gaiden I (or Shadow Warriors as it was known here in Europe), I mean the entire series. I’ve never finished Ninja Gaiden, Ninja Gaiden II or Ninja Gaiden III. The closest I’ve ever come is getting to the final boss on Ninja Gaiden I. The thing is it’s one of those games that has unlimited continues, so the only reason you start again is because you pressed the power button. It’s admitting the ultimate defeat. You failed because you gave up! It’s the game winning all over again. To make matters worse Ninja Gaiden III has a limited number of continues. So you have to finish it on only a limited set of lives. It makes a hard game even harder. There is a good chance I’m not going to ever finish any of these. This makes me sad.

2: Castlevania-
I know, this game is seriously hard, and that a lot of people can’t finish it, but the fact that I can’t seriously annoys me. I have spent days trying to figure out movement patterns of enemies. Then you think you have it, you make your move and an enemy moves slightly different then you thought and you fall to your death. It’s one of those games where you spend so much time dying because you fall back when hit. I hate the fact that I lose patience and go at the wrong time, and I hate the fact that I can’t finish this classic.

1: A Link to the Past-
This is my ultimate shame. I absolutely love the Zelda series. I own pretty much every game in the series, with the exception of the 3 Cdi Titles. A Link to the Past is my Everest. Due to my refusal to use online guides I tend to get lost in dungeons, lost in the overworld and just lost in general. I struggle to solve the puzzles too. It really pains me that I can’t finish this game, so much that I recently went back to play it. Only to find out that the battery had died in the cartridge and my save file had gone. I had to replace the battery and start again. A Link to the Past is the game that I am most ashamed of not finishing, I tend to just tell people that I have finished it, can’t beat a good self esteem protecting lie.

So yeah, that’s my list. Feel free to add yours in the comment section, if you so please. Also Merry Christmas to every one, have a good one.

By Matt Husselbury
Twitter: @Messiah_MPH
Facebook: /tubelove
Instagram: messiah_mph
Nintendo Network ID: Messiah_MPH

2 comments

  1. Nice list! I’m ashamed to say I have never completed Chrono Trigger and Final Fantasy X.

  2. […] with gaming this art is slowly being lost. Recently I was talking to a gamer about Ninja Gaiden (one of those games I’ve never finished.), and I was saying how hard the first one is. It became apparent that the other party was […]

Leave a Reply

