Wind Waker HD: Something New or Just Blowing Smoke?

So…You live in a small Island community. Everything is great. The sun is shining, and the sea is cool. Then everything is taken from you. Your sister is taken and its up to you, the hero of legend, to save her. What I am describing here is none other than Wind Waker, the
GameCube classic. Wind Waker is nothing short of a fantastic game; visually it is timeless, the story is great (if a little rushed towards the end) and it still plays well today. So it’s needless to say, that when Nintendo announced an hd remake, I was excited.

I was talking to a friend about the remake earlier in the week, and he was far less excited than I was. My friend stated that he didn’t want to see a remake, he wanted a new game. He said that he was sick of Nintendo just releasing the same games over and over again. He wanted something new. Part of me agrees. I want to see something new; how long can Nintendo keep releasing the same thing each time? I would have liked Nintendo to announce the release of a new Zelda game. My dream is a Zelda game set in an ultra-futuristic world, akin to blade runner, but that will never happen. I want to see Nintendo push the envelope and try something new. It is the same thing I was talking about in my recent Pokémon blog. Nintendo takes a ‘if it ain’t broke don’t fix it’ approach, and it wears thin at times. However it doesn’t change the fact that I love Wind Waker, and to that effect I love
Zelda.

Zelda is my favourite game series of all time. The first Zelda game I ever played was A link to the past. I had no idea what I was doing. I got lost, killed and spent rupees on stupid stuff. My friend hastily took the control off me and said I was ruining his game. Even though
my first journey to Hyrule was a bit unsuccessful, I was hooked. From then onwards I played every Zelda game I could, finishing Link’s Awakening, Oracle of seasons, and Oracle of ages. Then I came across Ocarina of time. My mind was blown! Ocarina was like nothing I’d ever played before; it was puzzling and difficult, but at the same time it was compelling and rewarding. It was just a shame that I didn’t have an N64, so I had to play it at a friend’s house. But hay, I was playing it. Fast forwarding a bit, for the sake of narrative, I eventually got myself a N64 and played through OoT in the comfort of my own house and I was loving it. Zelda was awesome!

Anyway back to Wind Waker. Before the game was announced, Nintendo showed footage of a new Zelda concept at Spaceworld 2000. The footage we people’s minds; it was miles ahead of previous games. However when Nintendo showed footage of their next Zelda game at E3, Link was shown in a cartoonist form. People were pissed! What the people didn’t stop to think was that Nintendo were trying something new. Nintendo were making a cell-shaded game. Nowadays people herald the game and talk about how stunning it was, but at the time, as I say people were pissed. But all those ill feelings were forgotten when people first played Wind Waker. Suddenly everything made sense. The colours and the cartoon nature fitted perfectly with the landscape that Nintendo had created. Gone was the Hyrule field, and in its place was a great ocean. Islands were placed all around, some you had to visit, and others were there for your personal exploration. Sailing the seas never became tiresome either the soundtrack kept you company, as well as the NPCs that were also traveling the high seas. You would battle and trade as you made your way to the next land mass. Kinda how I always imagined a Pokémon Orange Islands game would be, but that will never happen.

Wind Waker wasn’t the perfect game. Some of the plot twists were predictable and the ending felt a bit rushed (because it was). This means that there is room for improvement in the remake…which is good, right? Well firstly I’d like to see them fix the end game. I want to see the final two dungeons added back in, and replacing the rather tedious section of hunting for Triforce pieces. I think I can fairly state, that nobody really enjoyed that section. If you did, what the hell is wrong with you! I’d also like to see some GamePad functionality, such as; maps on the screen and quick access inventory like we saw in OoT 3D.

I’m going to wrap this up now because, 1 it’s getting late and 2 I’m starting to run out of things to say, that have a level of insight and or humour. So…I can’t see what the problem with a HD Wind Waker remake is. Sony release HD collections all the time and nobody bats an eyelid. When the Metal Gear collection released you could hear the sound of a 1000’s gamers simultaneously releasing seminal fluids into their underwear. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not knocking them, I was one of them. If you check back on Friday for Gaming Hall of Fame (or great gaming debates as I want to call it, since it was my idea), you’ll see that. I do acknowledge that these collections will probably be cheaper than Wind Waker Hd, and maybe that is the problem. I don’t know, don’t really care either. I love the game and I’m going to pick it up. I’m sure you are too, otherwise why would you have read this far? If you’re not going to buy it/ don’t like Zelda I suggest you leave know, before I draw my Master Sword.

By Matt Husselbury

Facebook: /tubelove

Twitter: @Messiah_MPH

Instagram: Messiah_MPH

Nintendo Network Wii U Thing: Messiah_MPH

One comment

  1. […] For a blog that thinks Wind Waker HD is a good thing I suggest clicking here […]

Leave a Reply

