Atheism

There is a certain subject about myself that I have remained silent about for the majority of my life. It is a very sensitive subject among many people, which is why I chose to remain silent, but I cannot do that anymore. I cannot remain silent about this anymore.

I am an Atheist. I am an Atheist and I am tired of hiding it.

I have to open this one with a something of a disclaimer. This is my opinion. I don’t want a debate, as I am simply stating my opinion. I won’t tear apart religions, I don’t really care what or who you believe in. This is about my own beliefs (or lack there of), and its intention is purely to open the eyes of those who view atheists and agnostics as horrible people to the reality of how the majority of atheists look at themselves.

I’ve been asked if death of a loved one is harder to handle as an atheist. No, it’s no different than if I were religious because when someone dies, you don’t grieve, you celebrate. You celebrate for the people who they made happy, the people who made them happy, and for the life they had. religion need not be involved in that process. I’ve been told that atheists can’t have morals because morals are founded on the principles of religion. To this I say, I would much rather draw my morals from internal dialogue than from fear for what may or may not happen after I die. I’ve been told that atheists must all be depressed. To that I say: really? why would I be depressed about life. Every atom in our bodies can be traced to the remnants of stars that one day lit up our night sky. I go outside at night I look up at the stars and I think: “I was there once. I’ve been in space.”

Sure I have my moments of depression, when life gets me down and current events get to be too much; everyone does. I bounce back, you bounce back, we all bounce back. In my opinion life is too short to spend praying rather than acting to make a change. I am not against religion; I am against ignorance.

So no I don’t believe in a higher power. I believe in life; we only get one. I choose to live it as such. The earth is 4-billion years old living things have only been seen in the past 0.5 billion years of it. Over that span of time, 99.9% of all life that has ever existed on earth has gone extinct, just as humans will one day will as well.

I ask you now to watch this video of an audio clip with Niel DeGrasse Tyson. He is an American astrophysicist, who can be defined as an agnostic. In my opinion, he is easily one of the most brilliant minds of our time.

Alex Hicks

2 comments

  1. I agree you on this, being an atheist myself. I’m an atheist, and I’m happier without a god. I actually respect the right to believe, and have my own moral standards, all without religion. However, when I criticize religions, I criticize them whilst viewing them as institutions, rather than criticizing the beliefs themselves.

  2. This is beautiful. You don’t need religion to grieve, love, be happy or sad, well behaved or otherwise. Emotions like these are primal and thoroughly human. I have never understood why people live this life as though a better one is waiting for them after they die, treating it like a trial run. There is nothing after life. Earth is a beautiful place, forged in the violence of the Big Bang, so enjoy it and explore it while you still have time. I doubt it can get much better than this šŸ™‚

    Thanks for this x

Leave a Reply

